Strategic Partners

Type Media Center and the Fertel Foundation jointly co-founded The Ridenhour Prizes in 2003. The inaugural prize recipients were Joe Wilson (Prize for Truth-Telling), Daniel Ellsberg (Courage Prize), and Deborah Scroggins for Emma's War: An Aid Worker, Radical Islam, and the Politics of Oil – A True Story of Love and Death in the Sudan (Book Prize). The Documentary Film Prize was added in 2011; that year, Ronit Avni, Julia Bacha, and Rula Salamehi won for Budrus.

Our strategic partners for The Ridenhour Prizes are:

Government Accountability Project

The Government Accountability Project is the nation's leading whistleblower protection and advocacy organization. Through litigating whistleblower cases, publicizing concerns, and developing legal reforms, GAP's mission is to protect the public interest by promoting government and corporate accountability.

Project on Government Oversight

POGO is a nonpartisan independent watchdog that champions good government reforms; its investigations into corruption, misconduct, and conflicts of interest achieve a more effective, accountable, open, and ethical federal government.

Fund for Constitutional Government

FCG is a publicly funded foundation dedicated to the exposure and correction of corruption in the United States federal government, and accomplishes this work by funding organizations and journalists working to advance and sustain an open and accountable government.